More creationist nonsense…

Update;I was wrong about Lot’s daughters getting raped. Guess I got as far as the point where the ‘hero’ of the section did something that conflicts with my own morality so stupendously that I thought ‘fuck it’.

Well, howdy folks. I’ve just been on an argument marathon recently. Good for the burnout I guess.

The latest person to enter into my sphere of ‘Oh god, why did you come here’ is Reppy, or to give him his full name Repen T.OrBurn. He’s…. a garden variety creationist who’s written four books, all of which have been reviewed by the same person on the 15 of Feburary 2016… Not judging. Oh yeah, he’s also bought all his Twitter followers. So, yeah, judging.

fake-fake-fake

He also told me that he doesn’t care if people read his books – but a ten second look at his website gives us a clear indication that that’s bollocks. All his posts are ‘sneak peeks’ of his books, requests for interviews and, strangely, movie reviews.

But I said I’d read one of his books.

I tried to download on of them on audible – but for some reason I’m not getting anywhere. I’m fully aware that I’m a pillock so I may well have failed at purchasing something, I can’t find it on my audible library, so… I dunno.

Alas I have no book to review.

So let’s talk about his Twitter arguments. The first one that made me laugh was his claim that Lot did not let his daughters get raped.

According to gotquestions.org ‘… Two men who were really angels appeared in Sodom where Lot lived with his family. The wicked men of the city surrounded Lot’s house seeking to have homosexual relations with the angels. Lot begged the men of the city not to do this evil thing, and he offered up his two virgin daughters to them instead… We are told in 1 Corinthians 10:11 that the record of the Old Testament is for an “example” to us. In other words, God gives us the whole truth about biblical characters, their sin, their failures, their victories and good deeds, and we are to learn from their example, what to do and what not to do. In fact, this is one of the ways God teaches us what we need to know in order to make good choices as believers…Scripture does not reveal Lot’s reasoning for offering up his daughters. Whatever his thought process was, it was wrong and indefensible.’

So, yeah, the dudes raped the virgin girls until they were bow legged and God didn’t do shit about it.

Next was his assertion that if I do my own research into God then it will ‘mean’ more than if he just provided me with something that backs up his own claim. I like to call this the ‘do my homework for me’ argument.

If I go out and research God, what am I going to find that I haven’t already found? People who actually care about their beliefs have sent me some very good evidence for their claims and really challenged my thinking. They haven’t changed my mind of course because their evidence has been misunderstood science.

Next, ‘The Roman Catholic religion is an unBiblical cult and a disgusting organization’.

We first need to ascertain what ‘Biblicalnuss’ is.

 

The word kill appears 419 times. Hate appears 178 times.

Rape.

Murder… happens. A lot.

Want to talk about slavery?

General nasty stuff? Plenty of that.

Contradictions? You want some of those? Here you go.

The Bible is a mass of hate and cruelty and has been used to justify the worst of human atrocities. It has allowed thousands of years of pain and harm to come to children, women and LGBT people. I know several Christians who are lovely. I believe they are lovely despite their dedication to the Bible.

Pointing all this out of course makes me an ‘anti-christian bigot’ apparently. Guess that means I hate my Grandma because of the fables she likes. I must hate my favourite work colleague – a person whom I admire based on his unfailable sense of fairness and charity. I must even hate my partners family.

I think that is all the time I want to spend on this chap.

 

Leave a Reply

